The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson’s Remnant Chronicles and finds a spot on our Best Teen Books List. Books two and three, The Heart of Betrayal and The Beauty of Darkness are also out so you can read all three in a row! 







In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight―but she doesn’t―and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom―to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive―and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets―even as she finds herself falling in love.

Have you ever done sketchnoting or visual note taking?

We think the one below made by Karin Perry on The Kiss of Deception is so much fun. Karin said, “You can create these using paper and colored pencils/markers or tablets.”

Karin Perry
Karin Perry

While creating sketchnotes for books, Karin keeps a list of the the things she thinks are important to the story that she wants to draw. “You can either draw the sketchnotes while you read the book or after you finish. I’ve done both.” said Karin.

Here is a link to the free app Autodesk SketchBook.

Series: The Remnant Chronicles, #1
Publisher: Henry Holt
Publication date: July 8, 2014
Author’s Blog:

You’ll never miss a book review – Subscribe to the Pirl YouTube channel.